Soggy Bottom Boys

The Soggy Bottom Boys are the fictitious Depression era "old-timey music" trio and accompaniment from the movie O Brother, Where Art Thou?. Their hit single is Man of Constant Sorrow, which also became a surprise hit single in real life. The Soggy Bottom Boys eventually became so popular that the actual talents behind the music (who were dubbed into the movie) Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch and Dan Tyminski planned and performed music from O Brother, Where Art Thou? in a concert tour.

The voices behind the Soggy Bottom Boys themselves were Dan Tyminski (lead on Man of Constant Sorrow), Harley Allen, and Pat Enright, the three winning a CMA Award for Single of the Year and a Grammy Award for Best Country Collaboration with Vocals, both for the song Man of Constant Sorrow. Tim Blake Nelson, playing Delmar O'Donnell in the movie (one of the Soggy Bottom Boys) sang the lead vocal himself for the song In the Jailhouse Now.

In 2003 musicians Skeewiff remixed Man Of Constant Sorrow. The song was so popular in Australia that it featured at number 96 in the Triple J's hottest 100 songs of 2003.